Ladyboy Ladyboy 是什么?Ladyboy 的定义

基本上,我们仅将 “Ladyboy” 视为亚洲的跨性女。Ladyboy 和跨性女整体来说其实有些微的差异。Ladyboy这个词有的人接受,而有的人无法接受;Ladyboy 一词和跨性女本身带来了引人入胜的有趣历史。

Ladyboy 的定义

Ladyboy 是 Kathoey 的英文翻译(但并非字面上),这个泰文用语非常接近跨性女,但也囊括了女性化的男同性恋者。

这个词的确切起源为何已不可考。变性女 (Kathoey) 在泰国已存在了很久,因此这个现象并不新奇。最言之有理的起源,可追溯到泰国成为一大热门观光景点之时。越战期间,美军时常在泰国的海滩喝酒和找女人消磨时间。变性女显然不容被忽视。为了方便称呼,因此才有了英文词 "kathoey"。

请注意:"Ladyboy" 这个词并不是每个人都喜爱。虽然泰国和多数亚洲国家都接受,但这个词在西方国家普遍被视为贬义。这都是因为互联网和其他媒体的宣传,加上 "ladyboy porn" 广泛受西方男性的喜爱,因此这个词往往被联想为色情片角色和(或)妓女。"Ladyboy" 这个词并非正式说法,在性別、性取向上也不完全正确。难道 Ladyboy 的意思是她们给人 "lady"(淑女)的感觉多过 "boy"(男生)吗?跨性女较广为接受且正式,在性別、性取向上也较正确。但 "Ladyboy" 在亚洲很普遍被使用。毕竟这个词是起源于泰国,他们利用这个词来与西方人沟通,因此亚洲人较能接受。

泰国的 Ladyboy


泰国有「微笑之国」之美名,但也以「Ladyboy 之国」为名!比起菲律宾或马来西亚等其他国家,泰国占有全世界更高人口的 Ladyboy。Ladyboy 一词其实是泰语 "Kathoey" 的英文翻译,指的是跨性女或女性化的男同性恋者。

为何泰国有这么多 Ladyboy的理由很多。首先,人们和社会都非常开放,且相当接纳 Ladyboy。泰国人主要信奉佛教,这个宗教对不同族群都极为包容且接纳。第二,泰国的 Ladyboy 具有自然女性的特征。就像其他亚洲人,她们有娇小的体型、削瘦的脸庞特征和柔滑的肌肤。这使泰国的 Ladyboy 顺利经历她们的性转变,社会也认同她们是「合格」的女性。

Ladyboy 在泰国被人们广为接受。不像其他国家,在泰国的家庭中,有 Ladyboy 并非可耻的事。即使歧视依旧存在,泰国的 Ladyboy 仍有权进入大多数专业领域。

菲律宾的 Ladyboy


继泰国后是菲律宾。这个国家传统上是信奉罗马天主教,但该社会却也非常包容所有男同性恋者、女同性恋者、双性恋者和变性者族群,当然也包含了跨性者和 Ladyboy。菲律宾语也有与泰语 Kathoey 相同的当地术语,像是 "bakla" 或 "bayot",其定义了女性化的男同性恋者或跨性女。

就像泰国,菲律宾的 Ladyboy 分布于社会上的各行各业中。他们也活跃于媒体和公众场合。有些家庭有好几个跨性孩子,他们的父母都很接受这样的孩子。

您会发现,跨性女的在线约会网站上有相当多的菲律宾 Ladyboy。这是因为她们一般英语能力很好,且多数有使用笔电和智能手机。

亚洲的 Ladyboy

亚洲的其他国家也有当地 Ladyboy 的传统历史。像是印尼有瓦里阿斯 (warias)、印度有海吉拉斯 (hijras)、日本有伪娘 (new half)... 术语的多元表示了西方人对跨性别主义不同的概念,这些词很相近,但并不完全相同。

英文术语 "Ladyboy" 在所有东南亚国家颇为流行,当亚洲人与外国人谈论时,人们会将这个词与当地的术语一起使用,或直接以英文词称呼做为替代用语。

世界上的 Ladyboy

除了色情内容之外,世界上其他国家并不那么普遍使用 Ladyboy 这个词。欧洲和美国偏好使用的术语是基于拉丁文的跨性女 (transgender women) 或变性女 (transsexual) 。他们明确地区分变性者和同性恋男(甚至是女性化的男同性恋者)。

亚洲以外的国家都视 "Ladyboy" 这个词为贬义,因为电视和文宣的关系,这个词普遍令人联想到互联网上的色情内容、或亚洲的 Ladyboy 妓女。Ladyboy 这个词经常有侮辱之意,相当于称呼女性为「妓女」。这个词也被用来暗示跨性女并不完全是女性。

与 Ladyboy 相遇和约会

遇见 Ladyboy 通常意味到亚洲旅行,亚洲就是 Ladyboy 的天地!虽然有许多亚洲的 Ladyboy 居住在西方,英国、欧洲、美国、加拿大和澳大利亚都有大量的亚洲移民,包括 "Ladyboy",但亚洲仍是最容易相遇 Ladyboy 的地方,即使随意走在街上都可遇到。然而有个问题:您有办法发现她们吗?亚洲的 Ladyboy 大量穿梭在人群之中,有时要分辨她们是 亚洲的 Ladyboy 还是亚洲的天生女性,极为不易。

另一个问题,就是当您在亚洲旅行时「在路上」遇见 Ladyboy,您很可能爱上的是意图不良的 Ladyboy。当您身为外国人,您遇见的人不见得都是不经意。您可能成为投机取巧的人、黑道人士或性工作者眼中的目标。人们会有「Ladyboy 全是性工作者」的刻板印象,但事实并非如此。许多 Ladyboy 从事正常的工作,她们并没有多少时间上酒吧或夜店找男人。当然她们也会喜欢出门寻欢,但许多每天流连于酒吧的 Ladyboy 是因为她们本身是性工作者。

在 My Ladyboy Date 上与 Ladyboy 约会

我们创建了 My Ladyboy Date 来表达这些议题。我们想成为 Ladyboy 和变性女第一个真挚正派的约会网站。我们想帮助一般 Ladyboy 找到真心想与她们约会、恋爱的男性。若您不在亚洲,您可以使用本站来在线相遇这些 Ladyboy。在 My Ladyboy Date,您将遇见一般的 Ladyboy,而不是应召女或性工作者。您将遇到渴望与真男人真实交往的 Ladyboy。

我们有上万个会员,他们都在寻求约会。马上注册并查看!

和 Ladyboy 约会

马上注册

快速搜索

Ladyboy what is a ladyboy, definition of ladyboy

Basically, we can consider that "ladyboys" are simply Asian transgender women. There are actually slight differences between ladyboys and transgender women as a whole. Loved by some, hated by others, the word "ladyboy" and the ladyboys themselves carry some history that makes an interesting read.

Definition of ladyboy

Ladyboy is the (not so literal) English translation for Kathoey, which is a Thai term that is very close to being the equivalent of a transgender woman, but it can also encapsulate effeminate gay men.

It is unclear what is the exact origin of the word. Kathoeys have been around forever in Thailand, the phenomenon is nothing new. The most plausible origin dates from when Thailand became a huge tourist spot. The US military, during the Vietnam War, used to spend their free time on the beaches of Thailand, looking for alcohol and women. And obviously the "kathoeys" couldn't be left unnoticed. And so the need for an English term arose, simple because it is more convenient.

Note: The term ladyboy is not appreciated by everyone. Although Thais and most of Asians are fine with it, it is perceived derogatory in the western world. Thanks to the internet and other media the term is usually associated with porn and/or prostitution as "ladyboy porn" tends to be popular amongst western men. The term "ladyboy" is nothing official and is actually politically incorrect. Are ladyboys more "lady" or more "boy"? Transgender women is the accepted, official and politically correct term. But "ladyboy" is commonly used in Asia as an everyday word. After all, the term originated in Thailand to facilitate communication with westerners, thus Asians are fine with it.

Ladyboy in Thailand


Thailand is known as the Land of Smiles, but it's also know as the Land of the Ladyboys! Compared to other countries, like the Philippines or Malaysia, Thailand has a way higher population of ladyboys in the world. As a matter of fact the word "ladyboy" is the English translation for "Kathoey", a Thai term for transgender women and effeminate gay men.

There are many reasons that explain why there are so many ladyboys in Thailand. First, the people and society are extremely open and tolerant towards ladyboys. Thai people are mainly Buddhist, which is a religion extremely tolerant and acceptant of people with differences. Second, Thai ladyboys have features that are naturally feminine. Just like other Asians, they have petite bodies, thin facial features and smooth skin. This helps Thai ladyboys to go through their transition and be "passable" for the society.

Ladyboys are widely accepted in Thai society. Unlike other countries, it is not shameful to have a ladyboy in the family. Even though discrimination still exists, ladyboys in Thailand have access to most of all professional domains.

Ladyboy in the Philippines


Right after Thailand come the Philippines. A country that's traditionally Roman Catholic, but where the society is also very tolerant towards all LGBTs, and that includes of course transgender people and ladyboys. There are also local Filipino terms that could be equivalent to the Thai Kathoey, such as "bakla" or "bayot" which define effeminate gays or transgender women.

Like Thailand, ladyboys in the Philippines are present in every layer of society. They are very present in the media and the public scene. Some families happen to have several transgender children and they are well accepted by their parents.

You will notice that online dating sites for transgender women are very often crowded with Filipino ladyboys. That's because they usually speak very good English and have wide access to laptops and smartphones.

Ladyboy in Asia

The rest of Asia has also a traditional history of local ladyboys. There are "warias" in Indonesia, "hijras" in India, "new half" in Japan... The diversity of terms denotes the difference with the western conception of transgenderism, which is closely related but not exactly equivalent.

The English term "ladyboy" has become popular in all South East Asia, used along with the local terms, or as a replacement when Asians are talking with foreigners.

Ladyboy in the world

The rest of the world does not use the term ladyboy as much, unless referring to porn. The preferred term in Europe and America is the latin-based, transgender or transsexual women. They make a clear distinction between transsexuals and gay men (even the effeminate homosexuals).

Outside of Asia, the term "ladyboy" is perceived negatively, because it's closely related to internet pornography or ladyboy prostitutes in Asia made popular on TV and documentaries. Ladyboy can often be an insult, equivalent to calling a woman a "prostitute". It is also used to imply that a transgender woman is not passable enough.

Meeting and dating ladyboys

Meeting ladyboys often means travelling to Asia. Because that's where they are! There is a number of Asian ladyboys living in the west though, UK, Europe, USA, Canada and Australia all have a substancial number of Asian immigrants, including "ladyboys". While in Asia, it's almost "easy" to meet ladyboys, as easy as meeting someone randomly in the street. The only problem is: will you be able to spot them? Asian ladyboys pass remarkably in the crowd, it's sometimes extremely difficult to make the difference between an Asian ladyboy and an Asian biological woman.

Another issue when travelling through Asia and meeting ladyboys "on the street", is the risk to fall for bad intentioned ladyboys. When you are a foreigner, not all the people you meet are random. You can be a target for either opportunists, organised crime or sex workers. The stereotype is that all ladyboys are sex workers, but this is not the case. There are many ladyboys who have a normal jobs and they do not have much time to hang out at bars or clubs to meet men. Of course they like to go out and have fun, but there are plenty of ladyboys that hang out in bars on a daily basis because they work in the sex industry.

Dating ladyboys on My Ladyboy Date

We made My Ladyboy Date to address these issues. We wanted to be the first decent dating site for ladyboys and transsexual women. We wanted to help the ladyboys of everyday life find men who truly want to date them and form a love relationship they deserve. Even if you are not in Asia, you can now meet ladyboys online using our dating site. In My Ladyboy Date you will meet the ladyboys of everyday life instead of escorts or those in the sex industry. You will meet real ladyboys who aspire to have a real relationship with a real man.

We have thousands of members, all looking for a date. Sign up now and check it out!

Dating ladyboys

Sign up now

Quick search